The Knights of Christ's Mercy

Official Websites:

Metropolitan Archdiocese of the Americas, Europe, Australia, Africa and In Partibus Infidelium of The Spanish Orthodox Church EACS/Orthodox Catholic Church and Allied Jurisdictions

The Spanish Orthodox Church EACS Archdiocese

Apostolic Commission for Royalty and Nobility

Apostolic Confraternity Seminary

The Third Order of the Lion of Styria

The Knights of God Apostolic


A fraternal and beneficent society of Catholic men

Brief History of Knights

Order of St Gregory the Great

Attention: This page contains brief information about the Order of St Gregory the Great. For a more detailed description of Order of St Gregory the Great click on the links below in the references section of this page

Order of St Gregory the Great

The Pontifical Equestrian Order of St. Gregory the Great was established on September 1, 1831 by Pope Gregory XVI, seven months after his election.

The Order has four classes in civil and military divisions:

The Order of St. Gregory is one of the five pontifical orders of knighthood in the Catholic Church. The order is bestowed on Catholic men and women (and in rare cases, non-Catholic men[1]) in recognition of their service to the Church, unusual labors, support of the Holy See, and the good example set in their communities and country.

The Papal Order of Saint Gregory was originally founded by Pope Gregory XVI on 1 September 1831, in four classes - Knights Grand Cross (1st class), Knights Grand Cross (2nd class), Knights Commander, and Knights.The regulations concerning the grades and uniform were then expanded in a further Bull dated 30 May 1834. As part of the reform of the Papal Orders instituted by Saint Pius X on 7 February 1905, the grades of the Order were modified by the addition of a Star for a higher category of Knights Commander and the suppression of the 2nd class of Knight Grand Cross, paralleling the grades of the Ordine Piano and the newly founded Order of Saint Sylvester. Pius X also assigned to the Papal Knights a particular place in Papal processions and in ceremonies of the Church.

Awards of the Order are usually made on the recommendation of Diocesan Bishops or Nuncios for specific services. Unlike membership of the Military Orders (Malta, the Holy Sepulcher), membership of the Order of Saint Gregory does not impose any special obligations. It is thus the preferred award to acknowledge an individual's particular meritorious service to the Church. A Bishop wishing to recommend an individual for this honor will a draw up a suitable letter proposing the candidates name, with a c.v., and forward it with his recommendation to the Apostolic Nuncio. The Nuncio may consult with the Bishop regarding the grade - if, perhaps, the grade suggested may be inappropriate - but will then usually forward the recommendation to the Secretariat of State. There the candidate's name is considered carefully and, if approved, a Diploma is drawn up in Latin (and the candidates forenames are translated into Latin) and this receives the signature and seal of the Cardinal Secretary of State. It is then delivered to the recipient. Usually, Papal awards give rise to a nominal "tax" charge to cover the expenses concerned - this charge may be paid by the Diocese but is usually reimbursed by the recipient.

The highest rank, that of Grand Cross, is an exceptional award - less than eight US citizens have received this honor in the past twenty-two years - and those who receive it have usually already been a member of Saint Gregory in one of the lower ranks before being promoted. Knights Grand Cross wear a more elaborate uniform with more extensive silver braid, a white plumed hat instead of the black plumes common to the lower ranks, while the badge is worn from the broad Riband of the Order on the left hip and the breast star. Knights Commander wear a less elaborate uniform, with the badge worn suspended from the ribbon of the Order around the neck, while the higher rank (Knight Commander with Star) also wears the breast star. There have only been twenty-two awards of the senior rank of Commander with Star since 1974 to US citizens. Knights wear a simpler uniform without the braid on the collar and sleeves, with the badge worn from a ribbon suspended on the left breast.

Since 1994 Dames have been admitted in the same grades as men. They do not wear the uniform or sword, their Grand Cross Riband is narrower and the Commander's badge is worn from a bow on the left breast.


Back to Top

Join Us:

We Support Israel and the Jewish People

How to Join Us:

Aspirants may apply by sending a "Letter of Application" which includes documentation of service. Upon acceptance, you will receive the Rite of Initiation during a Mass which will include vows and a dubbing upon the shoulders and head in the Name of the Father and of the Son and the Holy Spirit. This will be done with a blessed sword inside a chapel. You will rise as a Knight of God. You will receive an ecclesiastic license certificate and documentation of our Apostolic Succession.

St. George

St. George Logo
St. George


California Legislature Assembly:



Archbishop David Cooper's Coat of Arms
Metropolitan Archbishop
David Leon Cooper's
Coat of Arms


Community News:

Los Angeles Asian Journal Active in the Community

LA Daily News Clergyman takes service to elderly. Sermons conducted at nursing homes

Note: Archbishop Cooper never claimed to be a Roman Catholic bishop; he claims to be Orthodox. It is the Vatican that has said that the Orthodox share the Catholic Faith and are separated sister Catholic Churches. The Envoy Magizine article about Archbishop Cooper is misleading. The terms Orthodox Catholic and Orthodox Christian are synonomous. There are independent Western Rite Orthodox jurisdictions all over the world. Archbishop Cooper's Order does NOT have gay or women priests.

Contact Us

Complete contact page

Interoperable Web page

Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

Valid CSS!

Valid CSS!